Bob Dylan’s first three-disc album, ‘Triplicate’, set for March 31 release

A three-disc studio album Triplicate, from Bob Dylan, will be released on March 31 on Columbia Records, featuring 30 brand new recordings of classic American tunes and marking the first triple length set of the artist’s illustrious career.

Each disc will be presented in a thematically arranged 10 song sequence, illuminating compositions from great American songwriters interpreted by Dylan through his artistry as a vocalist, arranger and bandleader. The Jack Frost-produced album is the 38th studio set from Bob Dylan and marks the first new music from the artist since Fallen Angels, which was released in early 2016.

For Triplicate, Dylan assembled his touring band in Hollywood’s Capitol studios to record hand chosen songs from an array of American songwriters, including Charles Strouse and Lee Adams (Once Upon a Time), Harold Arlen and Ted Koehler (Stormy Weather), Harold Hupfield (As Time Goes By) and Cy Coleman and Carolyn Leigh (The Best is Yet to Come).  The titles of the individual discs are ‘Til The Sun Goes Down, Devil Dolls and Comin’ Home Late.

In December 2016, Bob Dylan was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature by the Swedish Academy “for having created new poetic expressions within the great American song tradition”.  He was a 2012 recipient of the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the United States’ highest civilian honour, and was awarded a special Pulitzer Prize in 2008 for “his profound impact on popular music and American culture, marked by lyrical compositions of extraordinary poetic power”.

The complete vinyl track listing for Triplicate is as follows:

Disc 1 – ‘Til The Sun Goes Down

Side 1:

1. I Guess I’ll Have to Change My Plans

2. September of My Years

3. I Could Have Told You

4. Once Upon a Time

5. Stormy Weather

Side 2:

6. This Nearly was Mine

7. That Old Feeling

8. It gets Lonely Early

9. My One and Only Love

10. Trade Winds

Disc 2 – Devil Dolls

Side 1:

1. Braggin’

2. As Time Goes By

3. Imagination

4. How Deep is the Ocean

5. P.S. I Love You

Side 2:

6. The Best is Yet to Come

7. But Beautiful

8. Here’s that Rainy Day

9. Where is the One

10. There’s a Flaw in My Flue

Triplicate is now available to pre-order.


Back to News Listings