‘Last Christmas’ soundtrack out now

The soundtrack to Last Christmas, the upcoming film inspired by the music of George Michael and Wham!, is out now

Featuring three Wham! songs including the title track, the album also comprises twelve of George Michael’s best-loved tracks from his solo years. All songs were written, arranged and produced by George Michael, except ‘This is How (We Want You to Get High)’, which was co-written and co-produced by George Michael and James Jackman. 

Directed by Paul Feig and co-scripted by Oscar-winner Emma Thompson, the film stars Emilia Clarke, Henry Golding, Michelle Yeoh and Thompson. 

Last Christmas came together after producer David Livingstone spoke to Emma Thompson about his love of Wham!’s iconic hit, which sparked the idea to make a film inspired by the track. In the spring of 2013, she visited George Michael at his London home, where he gave the project his blessing. 

Speaking of her meeting with George Michael, Emma Thompson said, “the wisdom and emotional scope of George’s lyrics have always amazed me – so many feel like they were written for the movie. After I met George and experienced his compassion and understanding up close, I realised that in fact the movie was written for those lyrics.” 

When Thompson heard the new track, ‘This is How (We Want You to Get High)’, she instantly knew it had to be part of Last Christmas. An extended version will be available on the vinyl version of the soundtrack. 

The Last Christmas soundtrack is available digitally and on CD now, with the vinyl edition set to follow on 15th November – the same day as the film arrives in UK cinemas. 

The album tracklisting is as follows: 

1. Last Christmas

2. Too Funky

3. Fantasy

4. Praying For Time

5. Faith

6. Waiting For That Day

7. Heal The Pain

8. One More Try

9. Fastlove Part 1

10. Everything She Wants

11. Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go

12. Move On

13. Freedom! ‘90

14. Praying for Time (MTV Unplugged version)

15. This is How (We Want You to Get High)

Listen to George Michael

Listen to Wham!


The Singles – Echoes From The Edge Of Heaven

Listen(opens in a new window)
Back to News Listings