The Prince Estate releases ‘Welcome 2 America’ in partnership with Legacy Recordings

The Prince Estate and Legacy Recordings, a division of Sony Music Entertainment, have released the enigmatic 2010 Prince album Welcome 2 America – a powerful creative statement that documents the artist’s concerns, hopes, and visions for a shifting society.

The album’s title track sees Prince deliver a searing, spoken-word soliloquy set to music about golden parachutes, the superficial nature of social media, reality TV-fueled celebrity culture and corporate monopolies in the music industry. The record also includes the tracks ‘Born 2 Die’ and ‘Hot Summer’.

Welcome 2 America features some of Prince’s only studio collaborations with bassist Tal Wilkenfeld, drummer Chris Coleman, and Grammy-nominated engineer Jason Agel, with additional contributions from New Power Generation singers Shelby J., Liv Warfield, and Elisa Fiorillo and keyboardist Morris Hayes, who Prince also recruited to co-produce several tracks on the album.

Listen to Welcome 2 America.

Back to News Listings